Pradeep CE

Passionate programmer, web developer, motorcycle enthusiast, book lover, aspiring writer and wanna-be entrepreneur :)

About Me

👋 Hi, I’m Pradeep, and welcome to my blog!

Everywhere on the Internet, I describe myself as a passionate programmer, web developer, motorcycle enthusiast, book lover, aspiring writer and wanna-be entrepreneur. I believe it encapsulates all my main interests, although I maybe totally out of touch with one of them at some point in time.

Most of the time, you will find me hunched over my laptop, reading a book, or taking a walk. If I am walking alone, chances are, I’m thinking about a problem that I’m trying to solve or listening to a podcast.

You are welcome to say “hi” if you run into me offline. Extra points if you have an interesting story or two: I’ll buy you a kaapi 😛

Reading

If Goodreads is your jam, then I have an ongoing challenge to read twenty books by the end of 2020. I’m ridiculously behind schedule, but I’ll read as many as I can. This is what I’m reading now.

I used to be a big fiction guy back in school, and had my name on the library card for most books that fit my age. I dropped off on reading towards the end of school, though, and have read only a couple of books since. These days, I find myself almost exclusively reading non-fiction and growth (please don’t call it “self-help” 🙏).

Podcasts

I started listening to podcasts very late (2019), partly because I didn’t know they existed (🙈). The main value I get from them over books, is that I can listen to them when doing other things like walking or commuting.

I started with the Seeking Wisdom podcast from uncles DC & DG (my manager is a big fan, and introduced me to podcasts with this). I loved it so much that I ended up listening to every episode from start to finish. I still go back and listen to a few episodes from time to time. If you want to get started, this is an excellent podcast to start with! Start with the oldest episode.

These days, I prefer stories of products and people, and listen to podcasts like How I Built This and Side Hustle Show. I switch them up with whatever is on Blinkist that day, if it sounds interesting.

Setup

I work with / on computers for a living. My personal machine is a clunky Lenovo G510 that has seen much wear and tear. My work machine is a 13” MacBook Pro. I cannot say I love them both equally.

I don’t have a special desk setup, and just use a writing pad and bean bag most of the time.

My mobile phone is a OnePlus 6T (8GB+128GB) running the stock setup with dark theme. I use Google Keep, Google Docs, Trello and Notion for note-taking and organising my ideas, Splitwise to share expenses with room-mates, Slack for work communication, Stitcher for podcasts, and Duolingo for learning Hindi.

Languages

I am a native Tamil speaker, but have near-native proficiency in English as well. I can understand a bit of Malayalam and Hindi. I’m trying to learn Hindi so that I’ll be able to speak it some day.

Python is my go-to computer language for fun and work. I’m slowly getting into Javascript with React and Gatsby (this site is powered by Gatsby).

Trivia

  • I was once part of a 380+ km long cycling expedition.
  • I enjoy solo motorcycle rides from time to time.
  • I love sunrises and sunsets!
  • My favourite emoji these days is 🔥. Go conquer the world! 🔥🔥🔥

The views and opinions expressed on this site are my own. They do not reflect the views or policies of any employer or client, past or present.

🐞 Found a bug? Slow to load? Hard to navigate? Doesn't look quite right? This blog is still brand-new, so please let me know! 🙏
Pradeep CE | Copyright © 2020 | pradeepcep@gmail.com | v2.0